WCCC Federation of Teachers

Emergency Membership Meeting-4:30pm

Friday, September 23, 2016 AFSCME Council 25

Minutes

Present: Juanita Carr, Apryl Brown, R. Annisad, Daisy Johnson, Kristine Davis, Bruce Ewen, Kewal Tewal, B. Bagchi, Patrick Kelly, Barbara Radecki, Jim Bull, Roger Short, Derrick Glass, Michael Scott, D, Robinson, Derrick Glass, Mary Mahony, James Jackson, George Anthony, Douglas Fairbanks, L. Watkins, Lyn Lewis, George Lakkis, R. Golshan, Wm Matthew, S. Olafye, D. Ashley, Joe Cook, J. Toth, Marjorie Jenkins, Emanuel Chambers, Crystal Morrison, Angela May, Addell Anderson, Duane Lewis, S. Wallace, C. Johnson, K. Bradford Deorphia Cato, Pamela Zarb, William Nichols, Emanuel Njoku, Pete Sutliff, York Brown, Lorraine Smith, Aundrea Bradford, Iris Greene, Charles Jones, Althea Brown, Adam Shakoor, Mike Swope, Barbara Saulter, Ella Davis, Christian Nwamba, Michael Wright

Call to Order: Joanne Wittbrodt called the meeting to order at 4:35pm. Wittbrodt introduced AFT-MI President David Hecker who made a few opening remarks, and stated that during the last twenty years, the WCCCD Board of Trustees has answered to Dr. Ivery. Hecker went on to say that AFT-MI was successful in getting two incumbents off the ballots, and Mayor Mike Duggan has endorsed board candidates Scott Holiday and Marla Wheeler. Hecker explained the nature of setting up a separate expenditure fund and said that it is perfectly legal to set up an Independent Expenditure Account to finance candidates who are running for office. He referenced a 2010 Supreme Court ruling (Four -page document titled "Independent Expenditures by Corporations, Unions, and Domestic Dependent Sovereigns U.S. Supreme Court Decision issues January 21, 2010 Citizens United v Federal Elections Commission") regarding supporting this issue, and stated that we have the right to elect a governing board using union funds. A member wanted to know who would be responsible for overseeing the money if it is transferred to an independent account. David Hecker replied that David Dobbie of AFT-MI and Eddie McDonald would oversee the money.

Joanne Wittbrodt said that according to our constitution, we need a quorum of 20 full-time members to be in attendance in order to vote on issues. Twenty full-time members were not present. Wittbrodt stated that the Executive Board voted to authorize \$7,000 to begin the first phase of the process of electing three new board members. Professor Juanita Carr express concern/disagreement regarding the Executive Board's decision to authorize \$7,000 to support the candidates. Professor Deborah Robinson wanted to know the names of the Executive Board members who were in support of this decision. It was stated that Joanne Wittbrodt, Roger Short, Christian Nwamba, and Michael Wright voted for these funds. Ella Davis was not present at the meeting. Mr. James Jackson stated that the process was wrong. Then, various members gave their opinions for and against the issue. Michael Swope (James Bull) made ta motion to dissolve and enter into a Committee of the Whole. Motion carried; 2 nays. Professor

James Bull, (Roger Short) made the following motion: That we allocate \$30,000 to support the three candidates. (30-yes; 16 oppossed-4 abstained.) No official action was taken since there was no quorum.

No further business, a motion to adjourn the meeting carried. The meeting adjourned at 5:40pm

Respectfully submitted,

Ella Davis

Secretary