WCCC Federation of Teachers General Membership Meeting Friday, July 29, 2016 AAFSCME Council 25 4:00pm

Minutes

Present: Joanne Wittbtodt, Christian Nwamba, James Jackson, Adam Shakoor, A. Quick, M. Mahony, J. Cook, Lydia Watkins, Charles Jones, D. Woods, M. Ellis, D. Cato, Michael Wright, B. Ewen, Pete Sutliff, J. Younger, D. Lewis, P. Kelley, B. Radeicki, D. Glass, W. Peace, Roger Short, York Brown, Wm Marrhew, E. Chambers, B, Bagchi, D. Johnson, Sharon Wallace, James Jackson, Betty Hill, Jeff Brown, W. Peace, G. Anthony, Addell Austin Anderson, D. Cato, L. Dolphus, L. Jenkins, A. Allen, Tom Franco, Apryl Brown, C. Greene, Bruce Ewen, Rayfield Waller, Charmaine Johnson, Janice Washington, Dessine Mack, Mike Swope, Lisa Anderson, Michael Scott, Ligia Grandys, J. Toth, Jeff Brown

Call to Order: President Joanne Wittbrodt called the meeting to order at 4:07pm, and stated that the main purpose of the meeting was to introduce the AFT endorsed candidates and to give them the opportunity to speak to the membership.

Minutes: The minutes of the previous meeting were reviewed and approved. Motion (Roger Short, Christian Nwamba) to accept the minutes carried.

Grievance Report: Dr. Christian Nwamba distributed the grievance report. He answered questions and addressed issues that some members raised. Motion (Ella Davis, Roger Short) to accept the grievance report carried.

Financial Report: Roger Short distributed the Income Statement-12 months ending June 30, 2017, and annual budget. He answered questions about the budget. Motion (Jeff Brown, Ella Davis) to accept the financial report including the fiscal budget carried.

2nd Vice-President Michael Wright introduced the following candidates who are running for a seat on the Board of Trustees:

Scott T. Holiday-District 4

Marla J. Edwards Wheeler-District 6

Patrick Kelley-District 7

Each candidate gave an opening statement and addressed concerns and issues that members raised.

Other

Office staff members Dessine Mack and Janice Washington spoke to the membership about their discontent over their contracts. Dessine Mack said that she signed her contract under duress, and Janice Washington said that the issues surrounding her contract had not been resolved. Treasurer Roger Short said that he had been working with the office staff for several months and he had revised the contracts several times. After some discussion, it was agreed that an Advisory Committee be formed to advise the Executive Board on how to get the contract issues resolved for the office staff. The following members agreed to serve on the committee: Tom Franco, Dawnita Woods, James Jackson, Deborah Robinson, and Rayfield Waller.

No further business, a motion (Christian Nwamba; Roger Short) to adjourn carried. The meeting adjourned at 5:44p.

Respectfully,

Ella Davis

Secretary